Women in Motorsports for International Women’s Day Monday March 8

Photo by VelocityMotorsportsNews.com 1st Time Ever All Female NASCAR Super Stocks (NASCAR Whelen All American) Podium at EIR May 14 2016 Season Opener at Edmonton International Raceway

Car 96 Erica Thiering won the NASCAR Super Stocks (NASCAR Whelen All American) Feature race at the Edmonton International Raceway (EIR) Season Opener! 2nd Place Car 22 Ashley Halsey. 3rd Place Car 10 Taylor Krause completed the 1st time ever all female podium.

NASCAR Super Stocks Car 96 Erica Thiering
Erica Thiering 5 Time NASCAR Super Stocks Title Driver/Champion NASCAR Whelen All American Series Champion. 3 Time NASCAR Feature Pure Stock Title & 4 Time Late Model Title.

Photo by VelocityMotorsportsNews.com at Edmonton International Raceway

NASCAR Super Stocks Car 22 Ashley Halsey
Former NASCAR Super Stocks Driver

Photo by VelocityMotorsportsNews.com at Edmonton International Raceway

NASCAR Super Stocks Car 10 Taylor Krause
NASCAR Super Stocks Driver Taylor Krause won her 1st class win June 4, 2016. Taylor was able to grab the lead & hold off Erica Thiering to win the NASCAR Super Stock Feature race # 2. Taylor watched her dad race while she was growing up and then, Grant Edwards gave her the opportunity to run a Mini Cup for a night in Medicine Hat and she was hooked! She won the Mini Cup Championship in 2011 & ran NASCAR Superstocks and I ran a NASCAR Thunder for a night. She also won the 2019 IMCA Rookie of the year.

Photo by VelocityMotorsportsNews.com at Edmonton International Raceway

1st Time Ever All Female NASCAR Super Stocks Feature Podium at EIR 2016 Season Opener!

Dawson Mcgill won the NASCAR Feature Stock main Feature race over the hard charging Justin Horton at EIR

IMCA Modified Car 21 Rylyn Malone
IMCA16-year-old Rylyn Malone is the first woman to win a major event in IMCA history! She won the 24th Roy Ross Memorial Trophy Dash, edging out fellow “Young Guns” #13 Emma Fitzpatrick 2nd, #91 Cameron Grover 3rd and #54 Alex Krause 4th! IMCA Modified Car 21 Rylyn Malone started racing Evolution Cupcars (Mini Cups) in 2015 at Edmonton International Raceway keeping the family legacy of motorsport. She won 2015 Rookie of the Year at Edmonton International Raceway, in her racing she also traveled to other tracks like Medicine Hat Speedway & Hythe Motor Speedway. 2019 was the break-out year for Rylyn as she won the at Evolution Cupcar, Edmonton International Raceway & Medicine Hat Speedway championships.

Photo by VelocityMotorsportsNews.com at Edmonton International Raceway

IMCA Modified Car 13 Emma Fitzpatrick
Emma Fitzpatrick 2020 IMCA Canada Sport Modified Champion & Rookie Title. Emma started racing at age 6 in a mini Sprint car. She moved on to the Evolution Cup series in 2017, then to mini stocks in 2019 and in 2020 made her debut as a IMCA Modified driver (now age 16). For 2020 she raced at Dinosaur Downs Speedway, Central Alberta Raceways & Edmonton International Raceway.

Photo by VelocityMotorsportsNews.com at Dinosaur Downs Speedway

Mike Clark won the 24th Annual IMCA Roy Ross Memorial Race at EIR

Evolution CupCar Series (Minicup)
Evolution CupCar Series are Mini Cup Cars that are 1/2 scale stock cars built just like the NASCAR Cup cars you see on TV. It is a class specifically designed for youth ages 9 to 16. This class has produced a lot of female race car drivers & Champions: Car 28 Autumn Kopeck, Car 77 Faith Addison, Car 95 Rylee McKinnet, Car 23 Kaylee Wilkie, Car 12 Rylyn Malone, Car 13 Emma Fitzpatrick, Car 10 Taylor Krause, Car 59 Tegan McKinnet, Car 79 Natasha Wilkie, Car 11 Emily Hartum, Car 15 Rachelle McIntosh, Car 9 Carissa Elliot, Car 15 Haley Crandall. They also had an all Female Evolution CUPCAR (Minicup) Podium at EIR.

Photos by VelocityMotorsportsNews.com at Edmonton International Raceway
Photo by VelocityMotorsportsNews.com Medicine Hat Speedway

NASCAR Pure Stocks: Car 16 Haley Crandell, NASCAR Thunder Cars: Car 3 Candice Pahl, Future Stocks Car 21 Tierra Ulrich, Car 13 Jonnie Peters, Car 34 Lily Medd

Photos by VelocityMotorsportsNews.com Edmonton International Raceway

North American Big Rig Racing Truck 58 Ashley Creed

Amber Balcaen

Ashley Huffman (Bart)
Bart Family Racing – 3 Generations of Racing – All Champions

Female-Led Ownership Group Paretta Autosport To Compete in Indianapolis 500

Photo Courtesy of INDYCAR

Shirley Muldowney
To do an article on Women in Motorsports you must mention Shirley Muldowney AKA “Cha Cha” & the “1st Lady of Drag Racing”. She was the 1st woman to receive a license from the NHRA & race a Top Fuel dragster. She won 3 the NHRA Top Fuel championship, 1977, 1980 & 1982. She also became the 1st person to win 2 & 3 NHRA Top Fuel Titles. In total Shirley Muldowney won 18 NHRA National Events.

Danica Patrick
Danica Patrick is a former professional race car driver & now NBC Sports Commentator. She was the 1st woman to win a INDYCAR race, the 2008 Indy Japan 300. IndyCar Series Most Popular Driver 2005–2010, 2005 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year. NASCAR: 2012 NASCAR Nationwide Series Most Popular Driver, 1st woman to win pole at the 2013 Daytona 500.

DAYTONA BEACH, FL – FEBRUARY 14: Danica Patrick, driver of the #10 GoDaddy Chevrolet, practices for the 57th Annual Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway on February 14, 2015 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images) Photo Courtesy of NASCAR

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Truck 1 Hailie Deegan
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Hailie Deegan came from racing off-road and on dirt, she is the daughter of Brian Deegan. She started in 2018 in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West & became the 1st female driver to have win a race. https://hailiedeegan.com/

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – MARCH 05: Hailie Deegan, driver of the #1 Toter/Engine Ice Ford, waits on the grid prior to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Bucked Up 200 at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 05, 2021 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) Photo Courtesy of NASCAR

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.