NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2021 Inductees: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Mike Stefanik and Red Farmer

Dale Earnhardt Jr.

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA – JANUARY 21: NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee Dale Earnhardt Jr. speaksduring the 2021 NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at NASCAR Hall of Fame on January 21, 2022 in Charlotte, North Carolina. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Amy Earnhardt performed the induction of her husband Dale Earnhardt Jr. Dale Earnhardt Jr said: “My eyes are already watering. To join Dad in the Hall of Fame is probably as good as it’s going to get I was a mechanic at a dealership. That was my destiny, or so I thought. I changed the oil in thousands of cars.” “How do you explain someone who makes every day of your life better?” to his wife Amy.

The son of “The Intimidator,” Earnhardt Jr. made his own path and served as the face of NASCAR for many years with 15 consecutive Most Popular Driver awards

He began his career at family-owned Dale Earnhardt Inc. (DEI) winning back-to-back Xfinity Series titles and 13 races in two full-time seasons. He quickly moved to the Cup Series where he won in his 12th career start.

Like his father, Earnhardt Jr. was a master of the draft and thrived in restrictor plate racing; Ten of his 26 Cup victories came at Daytona and Talladega, including Daytona 500 wins in 2004 and 2014.

In 2006, Earnhardt founded JR Motorsports, adding team owner to his resume. The team has three Xfinity Series championships and 47 wins.

Earnhardt currently serves as an analyst for NBC Sports and hosts the popular podcast ‘Dale Jr. Download.’

Kannapolis, NC




631 / 26 / 15

1998, 1999

Red Farmer

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA – JANUARY 21: speaks during the 2021 NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at NASCAR Hall of Fame on January 21, 2022 in Charlotte, North Carolina. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Tony Stewart inducted his friend Red Farmer. Tony Stewart said: “He’s a racer’s racer and he deserves to be in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.” Red Farmer said: “It’s something that gets in your blood, and you can’t get it out,”

While it’s unknown exactly how many wins Red Farmer accumulated, it’s somewhere north of 700.

His passion for the sport is likewise immeasurable. After all, he continues to race, even as he approaches 90 years of age.

But the record books do have a few things that are black-and-white and proof positive about this member of the Alabama Gang. He collected three consecutive championships in NASCAR’s Late Model Sportsman division from 1969-71, long after he won the Modified title in 1956.

Though he preferred racing in the Late Model Sportsman division, Farmer did run 36 Cup Series races, with a best finish of fourth (twice).

In 1998, Farmer’s many successes – clearly too many to officially count – landed him on the list of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers.

Hueytown, AL



1969, 1970, 1971


Mike Stefanik

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA – JANUARY 21: Julie Stefanik, the wife of NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee Mike Stefanik speaks during the 2021 NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at NASCAR Hall of Fame on January 21, 2022 in Charlotte, North Carolina. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

NASCAR Hall of Fame Crew Chief Ray Evernham inducted Mike Stefanik into the Hall. Julie Stefanik’s wife accepted the induction for her husband. Julie Stefanik said: “This is a huge honor, and I know Michael would have been very humbled.”

Stefanik, a hard-nosed New Englander, drove modifieds with a relentless tenacity that carried him to seven Whelen Modified Tour titles. Stefanik, who died in 2019 at age 61 from injuries sustained in the crash of a private plane, also collected two championships in what was then the Busch North Series.

At the very top of the list of all-time NASCAR championships sit two men: NASCAR Hall of Famer Richie Evans and Mike Stefanik.
Each tallied nine in their exemplary careers, with Stefanik’s coming in both the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.
Seven of his titles came in his primary racing series – the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. In 2003, he was named one of the Tour’s 10 Greatest Drivers, an obvious choice if there ever was one – Stefanik holds the all-time series record in wins, poles, top fives and top 10s.

Stefanik won two championships consecutively in NASCAR K&N Pro Series East competition, in 1997-98. That, along with a win total that ties for ninth on the all-time series wins list, earned him a spot on the Top 10 Drivers of the First 25 Years of the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East list in 2011.

In addition, Stefanik spent one full-time season in the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series – and it was a successful one. He captured the Rookie of the Year Award in 1999.

Coventry, RI





1989, ’91, ’97-98, ’01-02, ’06

1997, 1998

453 / 74 / 48

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA – JANUARY 20: NASCAR Hall of Famers Leonard Wood, Bobby Allison, Jerry Cook, Jack Roush, Darrell Waltrip, Rick Hendrick, Ray Evernham, Joe Gibbs, Mark Martin, Tony Stewart and Jeff Gordon join Julie Stefanik, NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees Red Farmer and Dale Earnhardt Jr., NASCAR Hall of Fame Executive Director Winston Kelley and NASCAR NASCAR Chairman and CEO Jim France during the NHOF Class of 2021 Blue Jacket ceremony at NASCAR Hall of Fame on January 20, 2022 in Charlotte, North Carolina. (Photo by Mike Comer/Getty Images)

Graphics & Photos Courtesy of NASCAR

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.