107th Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge May 28

107th Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge Fast Facts

Race weekend: Friday, May 26 – Sunday, May 28

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, a 2.5-mile oval

Race distance: 200 laps / 500 miles

Firestone tire allotment: Thirty-four sets for use throughout the event.

Twitter: @IMS @IndyCar, #Indy500 #ThisIsMay, #IndyCar

Event website: http://www.ims.com

INDYCAR website: http://www.indycar.com

2022 race winner: Marcus Ericsson (No. 8 Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)

2023 NTT P1 Award winner: Alex Palou (No. 10 The American Legion Honda), 2:33.7037, 234.217 mph (four laps)

NBC race broadcast: Sunday, May 28 (11 a.m. ET)

2023 Indianapolis 500 – Drivers Photo Courtesy of INDYCAR

Mike Tirico serves as host for NBC’s telecast of the 107th Indianapolis 500 alongside Danica Patrick. Leigh Diffey will be the play-by-play announcer with analysts Townsend Bell and James Hinchcliffe. The pit reporters are Marty Snider, Kevin Lee, Dave Burns and Dillon Welch. Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Steve Letarte will provide commentary and reports from around IMS throughout pre-race and race coverage.

Universo will provide a Spanish-language telecast with Frederik Oldenburg and Sergio Rodriguez providing commentary on Universo and streaming on TelemundoDeportes.com and the Telemundo Deportes app. Veronica Rodriguez will provide on-site reports from IMS.

Peacock Live Streaming: The NTT INDYCAR SERIES Carb Day practice session, Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge, AES Indiana 500 Festival Parade, Indianapolis 500 race broadcast and Indy 500 Victory Celebration will stream live on Peacock, NBC’s direct-to-consumer livestreaming product.

INDYCAR Radio Network broadcasts: Miller Lite Carb Day: 11 a.m. ET Friday; Race Day: 10 a.m. Sunday. Mark Jaynes is the chief announcer alongside analyst Davey Hamilton. Paul Page will provide commentary. Nick Yeoman (Turn 1), Michael Young (Turn 2), Jake Query (Turn 3) and Chris Denari (Turn 4) are the turn announcers with Ryan Myrehn, Alex Wollf, Rob Blackman and Scott Sander on pit road.

At-track schedule (all times local):


11 a.m.-1 p.m. NTT INDYCAR SERIES practice (120 minutes), Peacock

2:30-4 p.m. Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge, Peacock


10:30-11 a.m. Indianapolis 500 Public Drivers’ Meeting, INDYCAR.com

Noon – AES 500 Festival Parade, Peacock


10:30 a.m. – Cars to the Grid

11:47 a.m. – Driver Introductions

12:14 p.m. – Indy 500 Pre-Race Ceremonies

12:29 p.m. – “Drivers to Your Cars”

12:38 p.m. – Command to Start Engines

12:45 p.m. – 107th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge (200 laps/500 miles), NBC/Peacock


  • The Indianapolis 500 will be the 107th 500-mile INDYCAR SERIES race conducted on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s oval. Ray Harroun won the inaugural race in 1911. Marcus Ericsson won the race in 2022.
  • Nine drivers entered have won the Indianapolis 500. Helio Castroneves has won the race four times (2001, 2002, 2009 and 2021) while Takuma Sato (2017 and 2020) has won twice. Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (2016), Will Power (2018), Simon Pagenaud (2019) and Marcus Ericsson (2022) are the other former winners in the field.
  • There have been five different winners in the first five NTT INDYCAR SERIES races this season. Marcus Ericsson (Streets of St. Petersburg), Josef Newgarden (Texas Motor Speedway), Kyle Kirkwood (Streets of Long Beach), Scott McLaughlin (Barber Motorsports Park) and Alex Palou (IMS road course) have won races in 2023. The record for most different winners in a season is 11 in 2000, 2001 and 2014.
  • Four Indianapolis 500 rookie drivers qualified for the race: Agustin Canapino, RC Enerson, Benjamin Pedersen and Sting Ray Robb.
  • Alex Palou won the NTT P1 Award with the fastest four-lap average for a pole winner at 234.217 mph. Twenty-one drivers have won the race from the pole – most recently Simon Pagenaud in 2019.
  • Team Penske has 18 wins at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the most of any team. Andretti and Chip Ganassi Racing have won five times while A.J. Foyt Enterprises and Rahal Letterman Racing have won twice. Meyer Shank Racing has one win.
  • Alex Palou has a chance to join Will Power and Simon Pagenaud as a winner on both the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course and the famed 2.5-mile oval in the same season. Power accomplished the feat in 2018, while Pagenaud did it in 2019 – both sweeping the Month of May.
    Next Event: 107th Indianapolis 500 Sunday, May 28, 2023

Photos & Graphics Courtesy of INDYCAR

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.